Let your challenges lead to growth

I’d be lying if I said that this last year has been anything but hard. It’s funny how looking back on times that I felt were hard – were nothing in comparison. While in this year, I have grown a great deal and learned the value of me, I stumbled, bruised, and scarred along the way.

With each stumble, it has been difficult to remember my strengths and endearing qualities.

With each bruise, thoughts, “Is pursuing your dream really fruitful?”

With each scar, a memory to go along.

Stumbles

I stepped away from a position in management – and this did not fair well. It is not that I do not attend to direction, it is that my superiors should be more educated and experienced than I am – whether it be in fitness, nutrition, business, or management. And I do not do well with micro-management.

I gained nearly 15 pounds – ignoring my self-care. I refocused and the weight came off.

Income – in 2012, I fell below the poverty line. Humbling!

Bruises

I had bruises from walking into furniture. I had bruises from dumbbells, kettlebells, and barbells.

I had bruises on my heart – from haters and opponents who liked to poke and prod.

The good news, bruises are temporary and they all healed on their good time.

Scars

I am left with scars – physical and mental.

The scars on my knuckles – from taking my anger out on the heavy bag without taking the time to adequately wrap them.

The scar to my heart – losing my best friend and mentor.

The scars to my mind – thoughts of failure and disappointment.

The bottomline

I wouldn’t change any of it. It cultivated me into the woman I am today…and amazing things are happening! I look back at each challenge – and I can see how each and everyone of them led me to grow.

How have your challenges led to growth?

Like what you read? Please comment and share below!

Leave a Reply

