When it hurts to wear clothes

Pain is a major contributor to a perceived decreased quality of life. It is a reason not to workout or exercise – not to squat, not to run, not to lift weights, not to jump, etc. Nearly 100% of individuals that I talk to experience some kind of pain on a consistent basis. I wish I could write about a miracle to make the pain go away. I cannot. But the pain can be minimized and managed. I manage pain daily – through diet and exercise. One of my reoccurring pain experiences:

Sometimes it hurts to wear clothes.

It is difficult to explain. It is an incredibly superficial pain. Clothes hurt. Gently brushing my skin hurts. DO NOT touch me. There is no deep pain associated with this. The pain is regional – only occurring in my right leg, from my hip down. Sometimes it goes all the way down to my knee. Other times it only goes down halfway. Sometimes it is in the front through my quadriceps and other times down through the hamstrings. And I have determined no rhyme or reason for flare ups – while I know there must be a trigger and I am working to define this.

The cause

I have a partial nerve impingement. Given some of my previous diagnoses, I knew it was an inevitable occurrence.

The treatment

Resting is always a good idea.

Avoiding extended periods of sitting eases the uncomfortableness.

Dynamic stretching, hip mobility exercises, and nerve flossing can help to reduce the inflammation.

After years of medications, I avoid them like the plague. Not to mention, I have tried them and they do not work.

The bottomline

Stopped

I will not be stopped. I do not complain about or wallow in my pain – and I do not write this for pity. Friends and acquaintances often tell me – you need to workout less or that my exercise is making it worse. Sitting around makes it worse! I need to stay moving in a safe manner.

I am not immortal – despite what some think.

I simply WILL NOT be stopped.

How about you?

Like what you read? Please comment and share below!

One thought on “When it hurts to wear clothes

  1. Well Said . I felt that way working on my shed. leg , lower back and Hand when I hit it with the hammer, Slow down Yes. It will not stop me. I try not to complain to others. Human Nature ? Maybe.

Leave a Reply

