A good problem to have?

I like to think that I am humble – but confident. That confidence can be mistaken for arrogance – but I simply know what I know. The key to this is that I also know what I do not know. I know that I am good at what I do. The fitness industry is known for pushy sales. I never sell myself and individuals still find their way to me. Why? I know what I am doing and they can see that. Further, it helps that I look the part!

I recently relocated to Minnesota. I have been training a few clients here and there – keeping one foot in my passion for health and fitness. The problem? Other gym goers see me training and want to train with me. Your average trainer would probably kill for the number of walk up clients I could have. But I do not have the time for these clients. Between a full time job, online clients, in-person clients, and leaving time for this blog – my schedule is booked. (Time to raise my rates!)

A problem with the industry

I have also had a couple of individuals admit that they were happy to see someone they felt they could trust. Awesome? Well, yes and no. I wish I trusted my colleagues, but I do not. I am happy that at least some gym-goers can identify quality trainers when they see them. I wish I could refer my overflow…but I am not sure where to send them. Who can manage bum knees, hips, and shoulders and still achieve weight loss or muscle building? 80% of my colleagues do not know how to build a program (i.e., 4-12 weeks’ worth of workouts that complement one another while working for a common goal) let alone how to successfully work around comorbidities (not to mention that a ‘personal trainer’ is only qualified to work with asymptomatic individuals). I have talked about qualified personal trainers and I will again and again. And again. Because I do not want to see you get hurt. And I do not want I see you fail. I do not want to see you throw your money and time away.

I am not good at saying no – because I want to help. I want individuals to feel and move better. I have conversations and hear pain indicators –

“I have tried everything” or

“I just don’t know what to do” or

“I am tired” or

“I have given up”.

I love the excitement of being able to bring life back to someone’s eyes. I love watching someone MOVE. I love seeing improvements – empowering others to be their best.

The bottomline

I need to practice using my ‘NO’ muscle. I can only take on so many clients. And what happens to the others? Do I let them wander aimlessly? Do I refer them to an unqualified trainer? A bit of a professional ethics dilemma.

 

3 thoughts on “A good problem to have?

  1. What is your “full time job”? I totally understand if you have a “normal” job for benefits or whatever, but it sounds like you have a calling that is waiting to be fully capitalized on. I know I very much enjoy reading your blog and can only imagine that you are an amazing trainer! Yes, this is a good problem to have 🙂

    • After more then 4 years working full-time in the fitness industry, I needed to get out. The insanely disruptive hours make it difficult to have a life. And I was becoming too frustrated with my surroundings (colleagues mostly) and beginning to hate the gym – which was hurting my own health. I am now working as a behavior therapist and hope to find a better balance in my life.

  2. That makes sense. I can appreciate needing to get away from a job that consumes your life. I nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award. Check out my blog for details and if you want to participate!

Leave a Reply

