I am NOT an athlete – Or am I?

It is hard for some individuals to believe, but I am not all that athletic. I look like at athlete, I can lift weights and train like an athlete, but I rarely perform like an athlete. This past weekend, I went cross country skiing for the first time since – well, since who knows when. I am terrible! My coordination is limited, my movements are impaired. I move slowly. Nothing about the activity feels comfortable. I am not drawn to sports that require true athleticism.

Looks can be deceiving

During my career in corporate America, my employer sponsored numerous team building activities – kickball tournaments, blind volleyball, etc. Coworkers were often quick to ask me to join a team – I would shake my head, “no, no, I am noooo good!” Believing this to be impossible, they would encourage me to join. I would agree, clarifying that I hoped they did not expect to win. More often than not, these individuals believed that I was being sarcastic or humble. But they always learned the hard way – watching me underperform and fail to meet their expectations. Later they would say things like, “but you are so athletic, how can you be so bad?”

Minimal experience

While I am a natural athlete – in a sense – I have to have experience and exposure and I need to practice. I have had minimal direct exposure to most sports and activities. I was always picked last in gym class and rarely given an opportunity to play – was the fat girl! I became really good at watching! I watched my brothers play many sports – but I did not play myself.

Several years back I joined an indoor volleyball league. The first few weeks were hilarious – I often ducked from the ball (I blame my brothers who often threw balls at me when I was a  child and this instilled a fear of balls). But it was not long before I was quite good at volleyball and moving around the sand court like a champ.

What is an athlete?

What makes someone an athlete? Natural ability? Excellence? Discipline? Genetics? Someone who partakes in sports? According to the dictionary, an athlete is:

a person who is trained or skilled in exercises, sports, or games requiring physical strength, agility, or stamina

With this definition in mind, am I or am I not an athlete? I am trained and skilled in exercises requiring physical strength, agility, and stamina. I believe that makes me an athlete!

The bottomline photo (14)

I have been telling myself for years that I am not an athlete. LIES! I am a life athlete – training for life. I’m just generally terrible and inexperienced at sports.

Are you an athlete?

3 thoughts on “I am NOT an athlete – Or am I?

  1. I’m Kinda in that same boat.I was not Heavy as a kid but did not have coordination and was always picked last. until the 4th grade I was enrolled in summer soccer as a youth, the next School season I could almost run circles around those same kids that picked me last.From that point on I kept running and play as many sports as I could . My parent did not have money like most kids I grew up around. By Jr High I did consider myself athlete . still today Throwing a ball or shooting hoops I still struggle. This did not come natural unlike my younger brother he played no sports but had a arm like a semi pro baseball player and football player..Now as adult I fight not being heavy I’m still very active but still over weight/obese by standards, even being over weight I still consider myself a athlete . I’m not one to watch the sport . I do Like to play most sports or try most all of them.
    You are Super Special for all you are doing and Sharing.

Leave a Reply

