A story about hula hoops

I previously posted about the value we assign objects when I discussed what I packed into my car to move across the country. I found it interesting, noting the items that made it into my car – like my label maker – and the items that did not – such as my diplomas. When a friend recently shared this image with me on Facebook, it made me think further about the value we assign to objects. Why? Because I would definitely lock up my hula hoop. In fact, I in a sense have locked up my hula hoop – for my hula hoop is safely sitting in storage.

hulahoop

The story of my hula hoop

I do not remember when it first started, but for YEARS, I have driven with a hula hoop in my trunk. I would guess 7 years? Everywhere I go – the hula hoop goes as well. I enjoy impromptu hula hoop contests and I often ensure that I also have a small, ridiculous prize in my trunk for the winner of said contest. The contest focus = who can hula hoop the longest length of time. This became a big hit at cabin weekends and bonfires. (Not as pig of a hit at family holidays).

How and why did this begin? I have no idea! But I do know I had found my childhood hula hoop in my parent’s garage and I found it to be great fun.

Hula Hoop Queen – 2008

The value of my hula hoop

In June 2012 I had to pack up my car – driving from Wisconsin to New York with no idea when I would be back. Everything I owned was either being sold or donated, put into storage, or put into my car. In retrospect, I believe that the items that made it into my car had the most value, the items in storage second in value, and the items sold or donated least value.

Despite the years it spent in my trunk, the hula hoop did not make it into the most valuable. Why not? Honestly, I wanted it in my car but I could not find a way to effectively make it fit in the car with the rest of my life – the hula hoop is awkwardly shaped and difficult to pack around.

However, the hula hoop DID make it into storage, while items like bedding were donated and my television was sold. Everything that held the most monetary value was sold – furniture, television, stereo, a computer, etc. Items that would be expensive and therefore difficult to replace down the road were not kept. But my hula hoop – an item which may cost $5 to replace – sits safely in storage waiting for me.

Hula hoop for fitness?

There are hooping fitness classes, but I am not about to get into that fad. I simply love the fun that comes with the activity. Most recently, I have worked to master the art of running while hula hooping. I believe this to be a priceless skill. It is important to note, however, that hula hooping is a great abdominal exercise. As such, I am a much stronger hula hooper in one direction versus the other! I had better practice my weaker movement!

The bottomline

I am not going to overanalyze this. I am not going to try and figure out what that means – putting my hula hoop into storage while ridding of other items. It is, however, interesting.

As I give significant consideration to becoming a minimalist (living with fewer than 100 items), I am assigning value to the items that I own. What items do you value?

If you had to move and could only take with you what fit into your car, what would you bring?

Final thought: I miss my hula hoop! Maybe I will go get it out of storage soon (along with my bike lock).

Leave a Reply

