Who AM I?

I have been working very hard at developing materials and have compiled information for my Possible Selves Workbook. As a result, I have been thinking about where I have been, what I have done, where I am today, and where I want to be. WHO I want to be. And you know what? I want to be me. My life has not been full of incredible moments and accomplishments. But my life hasn’t been all that bad, either. And I love my mission. I love the individuals I interact with every day. I am thankful for the relationships and for the AMAZING individuals who are in my life, have been in my life, and those who have yet to be in my life.

I am devoted to always bettering myself – ultimately for the betterment of others. It is my hope that my love and humility shine for the betterment of this world. I am passionate about health, fitness, and wellness because I have lived on both sides – ‘healthy’ and ‘unhealthy’ and I know how much better LIFE is on the healthy side. I have taken risks to build my foundation in education and experience. And I am forever thankful that I took those risks because I would not change my experiences for anything!

What defines me?

SINCERE. I am sincere at heart, thoughtful, genuine, and compassionate.

FAITHFUL. Loyal, committed, and trustworthy – and I expect the same in return.

GOAL SETTER. Achiever, accomplished, and driven. My sights are focused on what I want and my goals help me define my path.

COMPETENT. Able, willing to put forth effort, and possess the know-how.

ORGANIZED. I like order, systems, and structure. If it is not there, I will make it – whether it makes sense to you or not!

Visit www.flagpage.com to discover what makes you YOU!

That bad a$$ chick

I know I have a presence about me. In the past, have been labeled ‘bad a$$ chick’ at the gym. My very first lifting partner will tell you that it took two years before I would make any conversation in the weightroom. I have heard that I am intimidating and unapproachable – to women and men alike. Women who do not take the opportunity to get to know me perceive me as threatening – when my heart is one of the kindest I know! As a friend, I will be the first to be honest with you and I can sometimes be too blunt…

Perceptions of who I am

I come across old photos now and again and it’s a reality check. There are days I feel out of shape and weak. Really??? Let’s rewind ten years and then maybe I could talk about being out of shape. There are days when I feel like I can do ANYTHING. But most days, I just am. I am just me. I am not superwoman. I am not infallible.

In the last few years, I have heard many things, others’ comments of who and what I am linger in my mind. Here are a few that come to mind:

  1. You sound like a walrus.
  2. You are wearing makeup; I thought you were someone else.
  3. You are a vicious b___.
  4. You are really skinny – and that’s a compliment (from the mouth of a child).
  5. You have taught me that you don’t have to be thin to be attractive.
  6. Those shoes don’t look like you.
  7. It’s inspiring to see a woman who’s not afraid to wear muscle.
  8. You look great – you look GIRLY!!

Who am I? I am not 100% sure. I wish that I saw myself the way that others see me. How is it I only see the flaws and others see so much more? I do know for certain that I am not superwoman, but I am strong and I work hard. Physically. Mentally. Emotionally.

SO, I’m reflecting. And refueling. And I encourage others to reflect and refuel as well!

Who are you,

who do you want to be,

and what are you doing to get there?

One thought on “Who AM I?

  1. I have been reading your Blog info both Professional and personal> . This entry is one of the best so far how you open up. I believe you missed Beautiful.
    I’m not a religious person myself but I read this in a Forture cookie. It is the devil who makes women pretty But God who makes them Beautiful.. Like a Story I read 1 star fish at a time. You sharing such stories are making for great reading . Thank you

Leave a Reply

