Vitamin C + Fruit Snacks = ??

Here is another story about misleading nutrition information.

My friend is getting sick. I recommended she incorporate mega-doses of Vitamin C into her diet, among other things. She asked me if eating three packages of Welch’s Fruit Snacks counted as mega-dosing. They each provide 100% of your % Daily Value (based on 2000 calorie diet, or that designed roughly for a 175 pound man). I had to look up the nutrition facts for myself. I found something particularly interesting.

Vitamin C

Both the .9 ounce and the 2.25 ounce packages provide 100% of your daily Vitamin C value. How is that? The larger package contains more calories, more sodium, more sugar – but not more of any of the vitamins and minerals? This leads me to believe a couple of things. 

  1. One of the two packages is labeled incorrectly.
  2. Both of the packages are labeled incorrectly.
  3. Before sealing the individual packages, they somehow infuse into the package  a Vitamin C agent – the same quantity of agent regardless of the package size. If this agent is to be absorbed into the gummy treats, I wonder then how much remains on the inner linings of the package.

Reading nutrition facts

The FDA explains how to read a nutrition label. Just to make sure I wasn’t mistaken, I reread this information. I suggest that you read it too.

Me, doing math again

The serving sizes differ for the two package sizes. The larger package offers a larger serving size and 2 servings. No matter how I try to do the math, it does not add up.

The %DV is based on the 2000 calorie diet. 4% or less is considered low, while 25% or more is considered high. If you track your vitamin and mineral intake, you would want to combine the amounts you consume on a daily basis to equal or surpass 100%. I get that.

What I do not get is how both 40g and 26g have 100% of my calcium. If 26g have 100%, shouldn’t the 40g have more than that? And if the 40g have 100%, shouldn’t 26g have less than that?

The bottomline

It does not make sense; therefore, you should not eat fruit snacks.

 

One thought on “Vitamin C + Fruit Snacks = ??

Leave a Reply

