My gym is my church

Please walk with me, while I describe my church to you. This is real. My gym IS my church. From the Merriam-Webster Dictionary:

photo (2)CHURCH noun
1: a building for public and especially Christian worship
2: the clergy or officialdom of a religious body
often capitalized : a body or organization of religious believers
4: a public divine worship
5: the clerical profession
I have not found a ‘home’ in a gym that was not built on a foundation of Christian principles. My
 gym is where I feel most comfortable and where I am able to be me. My gym is where I fellowship. My gym is where I disciple. My gym is full of respect. The truth is – most gyms are judgement-free zones (not just Planet Fitness!). My gym is intimidating to the outside – aren’t most churches? My gym is an organization of believers, working towards a common goal and helping one another. We lift one another up. We encourage. We inspire. My gym is a positive place – yet a place of chosen suffering!
My gym is where I break myself down in order to build myself up. My gym is where I am vulnerable and quick to display weakness. As a personal trainer I often say, “My job is to make you feel weak while your here so that you can walk out of here stronger.” My gym is where I utilize the passion that has been placed on my heart. I use cues like, “lift your heart to God,” and “lift your arm out strong, as if you were to shake hands with God.”
My sweat is my prayers

I embrace sweat. At UFF we tagged, “Sweat is Sexy – because sweat makes sexy people.” True! But it’s far more significant than this. Sometimes my sweat is bloody – a quality deadlift or torn calluses to thank. When I am sweating, I have no worries of the outside world. I am moving from one exercise to the next, digging deep for strength and courage. I am building the best me possible.  And I am completing the seemingly impossible to get there. I pray for strength, focus, safety — for protection, love, success. I reach a level of mind-body connection that is unattainable in any other setting (for me) — with no distractions and no worldly concerns. It’s me, my body, and God.

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. – Philippians 4:13

My sweat is representative of how I care for myself – as one part of His body. Each workout is a personal worship and praise for Him.

My strength is my salvation

photo (3)SALVATION noun

1: a : deliverance from the power and effects of sin b : the agent or means that effects salvation c Christian Science : the realization of the supremacy of infinite Mind over all bringing with it the destruction of the illusion of sin, sickness, and death

2: liberation from ignorance or illusion

3: a : preservation from destruction or failure

: deliverance from danger or difficulty

I am strong. Physically, I am stronger than the average woman. Mentally and emotionally, I am likely stronger than the average person as well. Exemplified in my resilience. I didn’t just walk up to the barbell one day and pick it up. Deadlifts – a barometer lift for strength – are my nemesis. I have acutely injured myself on numerous occasions, attempting a deadlift. But I let my body rest, and then I picked myself up and attempted it again. I still have anxiety with deadlifts – and that is when I need to dig for my inner strength and not rely on the physical to get me through.

Where is your church? Is it a cathedral? A cove? A small coffee shop? Yes, I attend a church, where I worship and love on the Lord. But MY church at my gym, that is where my heart is and I know God is right there with me!

One thought on “My gym is my church

  1. Pingback: Response: No Gymtimidation @ Planet Fitness | StrongBraveHonest

  2. Pingback: Using anger for good | StrongBraveHonest

Leave a Reply

