Women can do pullups too! – GOAL 3

I am sad to say that my third goal is a carry-over goal. It is becoming an annual goal, I suppose? I first set this goal for 2010. Then 2011. I skipped 2012 and now it returns for 2013. If I didn’t know in my heart that I haven’t achieved it because I haven’t been putting good-faith efforts towards it, I would have to reassess whether it is a good goal. It IS a good goal. In fact, it is a GREAT goal. It’s been said that only 1-3% of women can perform one pullup…

GOAL 3 – 10 STRICT Pullups

pullups

I will be able to complete 10 strict pullups, consecutively. No break – with the exception of perhaps regripping. Absolutely no kipping. No assistance. At my peak, I achieved 7. Last I attempted, I managed 3.

This year I WILL achieve this goal. And I have set myself up for success by implementing a routine prescribed by a good friend and exercise physiologist – specific to my pullup goal. Sure, I could have designed a plan myself, but I like being told what to do…plus this adds some accountability as I know he will be checking in on me!

No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it. Therefore, strengthen your feeble arms and weak knees. – Hebrews 12:11-12

8 thoughts on “Women can do pullups too! – GOAL 3

  1. Pingback: The never-ending weight loss struggle? | StrongBraveHonest

  2. Pingback: I hate it when my shirts don’t fit! | StrongBraveHonest

  3. Pingback: The ups and downs of the kipping pullup | StrongBraveHonest

  4. Pingback: How to measure fitness improvement | StrongBraveHonest

  5. I have been afraid to tackle pull-ups for weeks now after I failed to get a single strict pull-up! I’ve been using the assist machine, gradually working my way up the stack and alternating with the lat pull to strengthen my back. Read your latest post though and it sounds like you are now a pull-up monster!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

