Sorry, it’s not that simple

1. How close are you to having your ideal body? 2. How hard do you work for it, honestly? Unfortunately, there’s no pill. There’s no magic exercise program. There is no “ah-ha, this is so simple!” I wish! I think we all do.

My opinionated self is becoming more and more frustrated by being surrounded by colleagues who want to make achieving your health and fitness goals far more simple than it truly is. I would love to tell you that all you need to do is attend a kickboxing class two times a week and you will see significant results. But I would be lying to you and misleading you.  It’s just not that simple. Sure, I want to motivate my friends and clients…but not through lies. I will give you the truth, 100% of the time. And weight loss and maintenance are just NOT SIMPLE, nor easy.

Before I jump into this, I want to explain why I choose to use simple versus easy. For those who know me, you know that I like to say that life is simple, it’s just not easy. I may be changing my mind – life should be simple – but as a culture we have cultivated life to be complex. I use simple because it is the antithesis of complex – and health, weight, and fitness improvements – and maintenance – are complex. Unfortunately, it’s not as simple as calories in versus calories out. The human body is complex!

As a health and fitness professional and behavior coach, it is my goal to educate, motivate, and inspire individuals to reach their goals. Educating is difficult, as the details of effective exercise can be complicated, intricate. And if it were as simple as some professionals and products like to make it out to be….then I wouldn’t have a career! AND, we would all obtain and maintain our ideal body with little to no effort. What may be even more complicated than exercise is nutrition! The complexities of insulin resistance, gluten tolerance levels, etc., each individuals’ needs are different. I do not require as much fiber as most individuals I know….and I need more protein than others. And how do I know? Trial and error and copious note taking. This has been far from simple, but definitely worth it.

I was recently conversing with a friend about nutrition and she wanted to ensure that she understood correctly how increased muscle mass can increase the body’s ability to burn fat. I had to asked her what felt like a zillion questions and tell her….it’s just not that simple. Are we talking fat as a macro-nutrient (Kcal) or fat as an energy storage (adipose tissue)? And I touched on carbohydrates versus fat stores as a source for cardiovascular endurance – again it’s just NOT SIMPLE. I think she was a little overwhelmed by the complexities and technicalities. Note that it is the fact that it is not simple that there can even be a career in this!

I don’t intend for my blog to actually provide all the answers. For, it’s NOT THAT SIMPLE. It may be a catalyst for thought in those who read it. But I do want to caution you – any fitness professional who does not discuss basic nutrition with you and/or refer you to a registered dietitian is likely not qualified to help you achieve your goals…so don’t throw your money away.

So, what are you thinking?

Leave a Reply

