Training for life

Training is a lifestyle. It's not a duty.I walked into a gym recently…not needing much other than a place to pick up heavy things and put them down. It’s a small place – cardio equipment; strength – machines, free weights, kettlebells, etc.; and  small group fitness room. I much prefer to workout in the small room. In the dark. Alone. – Perhaps not a surprise to those who know me and my workout regimen.

It didn’t take long for one of the front desk staff to ask, “Are you training for something specific?” My response, “Nope, just training for life.” Staff, “Wow, well you look amazing. (awkward pause) It’s inspiring to see a woman who can wear muscle.” Me, “Thank you, I work hard.” I walked out of the gym that day giggling a little and feeling good about the compliment. In retrospect, I’ve been giving a lot of thought to my response, “Just training for life.” Do I need to be training for anything more?

Read any personal training, exercise psychology, or wellness coaching book and it will state in laborious detail that individuals need concrete goals to work towards. I think about this, and my training for life isn’t very concrete. Nor is it measurable (survival?)…so is it attainable? But truly most important, is it motivating? What am I working towards? I feel that as a trainer and coach I should be a role model. In turn, I feel like I should be training for something, for a goal.

I’ve trained for specific events and achievements in the past – half marathons, Chicago Urbanathlon, to squat 300 lb., etc. How I miss training on these monkey bars….

At the given time, am considering a new challenge – giving myself something to train for. I have already set the extremely ambiguous goal of being in the best shape of my life for 30th birthday – May 2013. I’ve been working to conceptualize what this looks like – thus far coming up empty. The idea of doing a figure or bodybuilding competition has been creeping in and out of my head for a couple of years now. The physical training does not deter me; however, the dietary discipline makes me cringe! Now it sounds like I have something to think about, doesn’t it?

What do you train for? Are you training for life? And maybe more? I will always be training for life!

Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body – 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

5 thoughts on “Training for life

  1. Strong, Brave and Honest … that’s what i love about you! I have no idea what I’m training for in life … just running the race, every day … getting out of bed; choosing to trust; persevering; keep eyes fixed. You keep up the good work, friend … 🙂

  2. Pingback: Much like crossing monkey bars | StrongBraveHonest

  3. Pingback: Unexpected, only mildly welcomed, pain | StrongBraveHonest

  4. Pingback: Supermodels can’t do pushups | StrongBraveHonest

  5. Pingback: STOP rewarding yourself with food! | StrongBraveHonest

Leave a Reply

