Those RED Shoes

I’m drawn to shoes. My mother tells a story about how she lost me in a department store when I was a toddler. Where did a store associate find me? The shoe department. I guess I was destined to be a shoe lover. And I am mesmerized by red shoes

Oooh la la…my latest pair!

Red shoes make me feel feminine, pretty, and a little risque. I think that wearing red shoes gives the perception of confidence. The right heel on the shoe says don’t mess with me. Christmas Eve 2011 I attended church service with a family I hold near and dear to my heart…charcoal gray wool skirt, red sweater, and metallic red Nine West pumps. The reaction to the shoes from the entire family when I walked in the door was pleasant and positive. I felt good!! Over a pair of shoes? Granted…everyone was used to seeing me in sneakers at the gym, so…

When I’m having a bad day, I like to curl my hair and put on my red shoes. For the girl who dresses for the gym 90% of the time, this can throw people for a loop. But I like to feel pretty. And don’t most women desire beauty? When I put on my red shoes, it almost as if I’m empowered. I’m unstoppable. I know, an object doesn’t have that kind of power, but I have given it that power and I am okay with that. And I often remind myself of 1 Peter 3:3-4:

Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes. Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.

This does not mean it’s wrong for me to wear my red shoes. The verse was written to warn women not to follow the customs of some women who spent hours working on themselves. God would rather see women work on inner beauty, which I do every day. Do you? This is the kind of beauty that lasts forever, regardless of whether I have my red shoes on.

P.S. I wouldn’t say that I collect red shoes…I don’t buy every pair that I see. But I sure do have quite the selection. I’m still on the search for the right pair of ballet-type flats.

2 thoughts on “Those RED Shoes

  1. ahhh … friend … we hold you near and dear to our hearts, too! i didn’t know you were writing! now i’m a fan … you looked fabulous in those red shoes — but to me, you look fabulous no matter what, because what i see is a beautiful woman, made in the image of the Creator who loves her like crazy! keep fixing your eyes on Him — that’s when we radiate Him bright!

  2. Pingback: Finding the right athletic shoe | StrongBraveHonest

Leave a Reply

