More often than not, life transitions suck

Life transitions are stressful. Moving and job changes rank in the realms of the loss of a loved one. With that in mind, I might be a stress (adrenaline?) junkie. As we near the end of 2012, I can say I have experienced a lot of change in the past two years:

  1. Began graduate school, initially part-time, while working a full-time plus and a part-time job.
  2. 4 months later – quit my stable and secure full-time job in favor of a more risky position that would provide me more flexibility for school and the ability to work from home.
  3. 1 month later – complete meltdown from at-home work. Quit full-time job, began full-time graduate school, picked up hours at part-time job (which quickly became full-time).
  4. 3 months later – left independent living to begin renting from an acquaintance – ROOMMATE!!!
  5. 1 year 7 months later – pack up everything for storage or my road trip to NY for a 3 month position. Live in a hotel…21-year-old roommate…
  6. 4 months later – drive to San Antonio, briefly live in a 2-bedroom apartment with 3 other people, work in a resort, and FAIL.

I can laugh about it now, because it is one of those laugh or cry type of situations. While I have a plethora of options, none are all that appealing. And as I look for work the biggest decision of all is what to do in the meantime. Stay in Texas..back to New York…home to Wisconsin…or none of the above. The positive is that I am the only one depending on me. But that sure is overwhelming. And stressful.

How do I cope? How do I find direction and clarity in a time of such uncertainty? I have the song lyrics in my head, should I stay or should I go now… because I just don’t know what to do. For most decisions in my life, I’ve made a list of pros and cons for the options. Any day could be the day that I move and have a place to go…until then, I am quite tempted to get a job at Starbucks…coffee makes me happy! But I am ready to settle. I am ready to have a place to call home and make mine. Because transitioning from one place to the other, living in other people’s homes, really sucks.

Leave a Reply

