Cynic or Realist?

I’m cynical. Or am I? I prefer to think that I am a realist and that the world around us is truly too depressing. We like to think the best of everyone and everything…until we know better or are proven wrong. I have met my fair share of people with good hearts. Sincere. Genuine. Thoughtful. Gracious. But I have been exposed to far more with darkened hearts. Selfish. Hateful. Angry. Ungrateful. Rude.

I realize that not everything in life with go my way (what does go my way???). I realize that not everyone I meet with agree with me. But I do expect respect – unless I’ve given someone good reason not to respect me (which is unlikely and in any case would be unintentional due to my general nature and character). I also realize that few people are interested in me, what I do, what I studied, what I believe in, what my opinions are, etc. That’s life. I realize that a physician is unlikely to listen to my marketing scheme. I realize that most individuals will be jarred by my sarcasm and that some will be offended – until they understand my sense of humor. I realize that few individuals will understand and fully comprehend the words that come out of my mouth. I understand that 9 times out of 10 I will be frustrated by the outcome of a task I have delegated to another individual.

I have come to know that if it makes sense, it will not happen. I understand that there is no such thing as common sense. I also understand that there is no such thing as free will and that we are all products of our environments – as are the choices that we make. I often lean toward mediocrity  because excellence requires and individual to do more work in less time  for the same compensation.

Beginning to think that maybe I AM cynical, I looked up the definition.

cynical

  1. Believing that people are motivated by self-interest; distrustful of human sincerity or integrity.
  2. Doubtful as to whether something will happen or is worthwhile.

I am definitely a realist – a realism that was shaped by my environment and experiences. What do you think about the topic. Is there a significant difference between cynicism and realism? What is the difference?

Leave a Reply

